The ‘view once’ feature is being rolled out to WhatsApp beta for Android 22.214.171.124.
Mark Zuckerberg and Will Cathcart, executives at Facebook and WhatsApp, recently announced the launch of a new feature called ‘View Once.’ The instant messaging platform delivered on its promise, releasing this new feature in its beta version for Android.
‘View Once’ is a feature that allows a user to send a video or image that the recipient can only view once. Beta users who are still on this version but do not see the feature may see it in a future update. According to the report, the feature will be available to iOS Beta users soon.
The simplest way to tell if your device has the new feature is to look for a small view once button next to where the message is displayed. The other person will only have one chance to view the image or video after it has been shared using this mode. The user who sends the message can also see the message’s status, such as whether it has been delivered, seen, or opened.
Despite the limitation of only viewing the media once, the recipient can still take a screenshot of it, and WhatsApp will not notify the sender because the app does not yet support screenshot detection.
The new feature is also capable of working in groups. Each member of the group can only view the media shared with this feature once. By selecting Message Info, the sender can learn who viewed the media.
According to WABetaInfo, blocked contacts will be able to view media sent under this feature because they can still interact with the user within groups.